Wedding plans

A friend said to me last week, “You’re the mother of the groom this time, you don’t have much to do.”  Probably not for a traditional wedding: a rehearsal dinner and alcohol at the reception.  But of course Ben doesn’t do things quite traditionally.  First, it is a CAMPING WEEKEND.  Four days camping for some of us, two for everyone else.  In January I made 12 campsite reservations, in April two more.  I will be coordinating some of the meals that we eat together.  Jen’s family is taking care of everything else for the reception.  Of course, I still worry about everything.  I shouldn’t worry as it isn’t their first either, Jen’s sister got married a few years ago.

I have a list of things to do today: take sleeping bags to the laundromat, pick up handmade marshmallows at Fulton Street Market,  add two nights to Anna’s campsite.  Wednesday I drove to Muskegon to get a beverage dispenser for the Sangria that looks like a Mason jar.  I ordered four shawls and will return three.  Once I pick the shawl, I’ll go to the fabric store to get material to make a band and bow for my hat.  The reception is in a shelter in a different Kalamazoo County park, but the wedding is outside, so sun protection is needed!  I need to shorten Tom’s pants, and when Ben gets here Sunday, hem his pants and shorten his coat sleeves.

In 10 days I’ll post how things went, including pictures.

 

 

One thought on “Wedding plans

Leave a Reply

